Canada’s Governor General’s Literary Awards

Canada’s Governor General’s Literary Awards

A Bibliography

By Andrew Irvine

320 Pages · 10x7 · October 17 2018

Cloth ISBN: 9780776627397

79.95 $ CA


Alice Munro, Michael Ondaatje, Margaret Atwood, Antonine Maillet, Carol Shields, Marie-Claire Blais, Gilles Vigneault… 

Canadian writers have long been recognized on the national and international stage, and the Governor General’s Literary Awards have been instrumental in recognizing many of Canada’s best authors, illustrators and translators. The list is impressive: in fact, between 1936 and 2017, 705 books received this prestigious award. 

Andrew Irvine presents the history and evolution of the Awards and extols their importance for the careers of authors, illustrators and translators, as well as for the development of Canada’s national literature. 

The heart of the book is the first comprehensive, scholarly bibliography of the awards, including the first list of winning titles organized in their historically correct award categories; information about five books wrongly omitted from previous lists of winning titles; detailed information about award ceremonies, film adaptations, jury members; and other key information. 

This is the first of a three-volume series on the Governor General’s Literary Awards, setting the stage for an anthology of excerpts of award-winning titles and a collection of vignettes of all Governor General’s Literary Award laureates.

A seminal work.